21 ways being Joey’s mom has changed my life

Standard

image

  1. Joey taught me true love comes in many forms, especially when it comes out of those almond shaped eyes.
  2. Made me discover what it means to be patient (it took Joey almost 2 years to walk!)
  3. Extreme pride in my child when he achieves a new milestone… Watching my Joey’s “first steps.” It took more hours than I can count of physical therapy for those steps to happen! Thank you Michelle for all your help the first three years of his life getting him to sit, crawl, stand and walk!
  4. I learned to take a minute to truly enjoy the “little things” in life and taking time to “smell the roses.”
  5. Not to take things for granted. The poem Welcome to Holland describes my exact feelings during my pregancy with Joey.
  6. Mr. Clean Magic Erasers are my super hero in time of crisis, ANY mom can understand that!
  7. Celebrate small victories/milestones- many of these have been huge for him, including walking, feeding himself. Even after 10 years, we still cheer and celebrate ANY new accomplishment Joey makes! These milestones can take years to happen!
  8. Courage to fight for what is right for our child who cannot speak for himself. My husband and I are his number one advocates and always will be till the day we die.
  9. No more extreme partying- I went from being a 23 year old “wild child” to a very responsible adult overnight (although I still love a good margarita or glass of wine!).
  10. After Joey was born, I met a whole new group of friends- I LOVE my DS families, especially my fellow moms!!! We have made lifelong friends with many of these fellow extra ordinary families!
  11. I’m now the ultimate stain remover! Thanks to Joey, I can pretty much now get any stain out of my kid’s clothes!
  12. Sleeping in is a thing of the past- I swear, Joey has an internal alarm clock built into him. He’s awake anytime between 4:30-6:00 am every single morning. If we sleep till 7:00 am without interruptions, it’s a MIRACLE (or he’s sick)!
  13. Coffee is my best friend- wouldn’t it be yours with a 4:30 am wake up call almost on a daily basis?!
  14. Don’t believe everything medical professionals tell you or you read! Once a doctor told us that Joey wouldn’t walk until he was 3 or 4, he proved them wrong! And during my pregnancy with Joey, I read every book on Down syndrome I could get my hands on and believed he would have every thing mentioned in the books wrong with him like a Congenital Heart Defect like most children with Down syndrome and he didn’t!
  15. The joy of hearing your child speak for the first time! Even though he’s still considered nonverbal, Joey’s vocabulary consists of one actual English word, “Mom,” it was the most amazing day of my life hearing it for the first time 2 years ago.
  16. The power of prayer… don’t get me wrong, I’ve always prayed but once Joey came around, I truly discovered my love for God and when in the time of need, a simple prayer can go a long way.
  17. I’ve developed the stomach of steel… I can handle any bodily fluid without getting sick after having a child with colitis!
  18. Becoming a walking medical dictionary! With all Joey’s doctors and various diagnosis and illnesses, I had to brush up on my medical terminology!
  19. Becoming a walking legal dictionary when it comes to Special Education and Disability Rights!  Having to learn about my child’s Rights: IEP’s, IFSP’s, ADA, IDEA, FERPA and many, many more!
  20. Home hair cut battles. Cutting Joey’s hair can be quite the challenge, but somehow I manage to create his hair from being a shaggy mop into a work of art every single time even while rolling around on the floor with him and a set of clippers (one of these days I should have someone get a video…)
  21. A true admiration and respect for teachers, paraprofessionals, nurses, doctors, dentists, therapists and every other professional out there that helps to take care of kiddos like Joey. Their jobs are NOT easy, they work tirelessly to take care of our children. Many are underpaid and overworked, but they go above and beyond the call of duty!

 

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: 21 ways being Joey’s mom has changed my life — Raising Joey | The Daily Advocate By Painspeaks

Leave a Reply

